Vermont Marriage License

Vermont Marriage License

Unlike getting a New York Marriage License, it is quite easy to get a marriage license in Vermont. However, let’s cover all the requirements and details and get more information on it.

How to marry in the State of Vermont step by step?

As we have already mentioned, one of the most important and the first steps that every couple must take is applying for a Vermont marriage license. The applicants may apply for a marriage license at the Vermont town clerks.

There is no need to take a blood test in Vermont. Moreover, there is not any waiting period after getting the license. However, after the wedding ceremony, the parties or the marriage officiant must return the license to the town clerk’s office within 10 days.

Residential Requirements while obtaining a marriage license in Vermont

It is not a must to be a Vermont resident in order to marry in Vermont. The State will accept the marriage if the parties meet the marriage requirements and do not violate the Vermont Marriage Laws. Only after satisfying the requests of the State, the parties may marry anywhere in Vermont.

If neither party is of Vermont resident, they may check with any town clerk in Vermont and find out where they may apply for the marriage license.

Who is eligible to marry in Vermont?

Like the other states of the US, some people have eligibilities or restrictions to marry in Vermont. Of course, both parties who apply for a Vermont marriage license must be of sound mind. They must also meet the age requirements, but we will discuss it later.

So, let’s cover one by one which marriages are accepted and not accepted by Vermont.

Same-Sex Marriages

Vermont was the first state in the US that protected the rights of same-sex couples. However, it was not legal yet. After June 26, 2015, when the United States Supreme Court ruled in Obergefell v. Hodges decided that every state must allow same-sex marriages.

So, now it is legal for same-sex couples to get a marriage license and marry each other in the State of Vermont.

Cousin Marriages

The State of Vermont does not allow cousin marriages, as well as marriages between most close relatives. So, you may not marry a sister, brother, parent, or grandparent. As well as, a nephew, niece, uncle, or aunt.

In the case of civil union, you may marry only the person with whom you are in a civil union. However, if that person has died or you have dissolved your union, you may marry anyone else.

It is the same when being divorced. You must get legally divorced and end your marriage, then marry anyone else.

Proxy Marriages

The State does not allow proxy marriages. So, the couples must be present at the town clerk while obtaining the marriage license.

Age Requirements for a Vermont marriage license

So, now we are going to speak about age requirements while getting a Vermont marriage license. The appropriate age for applying for the license is 18 years old. People, who are 18 years old and older and meet the requirements properly, will get the license without any difficulties.

However, the case is different for people under 18. People, who are less than 18, but at least 16 may get a marriage license, as well. Nevertheless, they need consent from their parents or guardians, who must appear to the clerk with them. The parents or guardians of minors should give their permission and fill out the affidavit.

Minors who are under 16 will not get a marriage license in Vermont under any circumstances.

Documents you will need to bring with you

While applying for your Vermont marriage license, you will need some standard papers to prove your age and identity. So, here is the list of those papers:

  • State ID or Federal ID
  • Driver’s License
  • Non-Driver’s License
  • Passport
  • Military ID
  • Copy of your Birth Certificate
  • Divorce Decree or Marriage Annulment (if previously married)

Information you will need to fill out

In the application form for your marriage license, you and your future spouse must provide personal information. You both must fill out your name, age, address, birthplace, and current residence.

The next step is providing the information of your parents; including their names, ages, addresses, birthplaces, and current residences. Your mother’s maiden name (birth name) must also be included.

If you or your spouse had previous marriages and divorces, you must provide that information, as well. You must give the number of your marriage(s), and the date, the place where it ended.

Note: You do not need to worry, as this information is private and it will not be included in your marriage license!

The fee for the Vermont marriage license

The Vermont marriage license costs $60. It is valid within 60 days. So, if you do not perform your wedding ceremony within this period of time, your license will be void.

You may do the payment by cash, credit, or debit cards (Visa, MasterCard, etc.). However, do not forget that there is a $3 processing fee while paying by credit card.

How to apply for a Vermont marriage license online?

The couples, who want to fill out the application form for their marriage license online, may complete it and take it to any town clerk in Vermont. The application form is the same while applying for it online and in person.  So, the applicants may provide the same personal information on them and pay the same amount fee.

However, they may only fill out the application online, but not get the license. Even if applying for the license virtually, the couple must be present while obtaining the marriage license.

How to get a certified copy of your marriage certificate?

There are three ways to get a certified copy of your Vermont marriage license:

  1. When you apply for your marriage license, you may also request a certified copy of it with a $10 fee.
  2. After two or more weeks of your wedding ceremony, you may request a copy of your license from the town clerk’s office which gave you your license. You may do the request both in person and in writing with a $10 fee.
  3. After six or more weeks of your wedding ceremony, you may request a copy of your license from the Vermont Department of Health, Vital Records Office. In this case, too, you may request in person or in writing with an additional fee of $10.

For more information, you may contact:

Vermont Department of Health, Vital Records Office
Phone: 800-439-5008 (within VT) or 802-863-7275,
Email: [email protected]

Whichever way you choose, you will get a certified and sealed copy of your original marriage certificate. The copy is from the appropriate official which you can use for all legal purposes to prove your valid marriage.

Rita S.

Rita S.

With over the years of writing content for a number of websites, Rita has a uniquely developed style of writing. Rita is a copy and content writer with experience of three to four years. She has worked as an SEO and an SMM specialist, as well. During her working years, Rita has written many articles and blog posts for different companies in the world. She provides coaching, ghost writing, and ghost editing services. She has brought very high rankings for the websites she has teamed up with. She uses the combination of SEO and different content tools in her writings, as she knows that successful content is the one that is well optimized. Rita has posted her articles on the websites, such as Medium, ArticlesBase,, and so on.